Wake Up Call

This poem seems appropriate, especially after having to wake up earlier than normal to register for fall classes. Many times throughout the day, I have to remind myself of the importance of keeping the proper perspective, no matter what time of day, or how one particularly feels. Every day, I pray for strength and that God would grant me the grace live another day. There are days when I don’t want to wake up. I don’t want to be strong. I don’t want to be perky and awake. By God’s grace, I am sustained daily–that means in the small things as well as the big things. Even something as little as rolling out of bed and remembering God’s grace, and my desperate need for it.

 

That old alarm rings

And I groan in my sleep

Roll over in bed

With wool in my head.

 

Wake me up, wake me up

With sunbeams shining bright

Comfort my heart

Chase away the night.

 

Tumble on out

Coffee’s what I need

Make a pot, pour a cup

Take a long drink.

 

Wake me up, wake me up

When birds are on the wing

When the dew is fresh and new

And all creation sings.

 

Give me wisdom

As I take on today

Strengthen my soul

Show Yourself through the words I say.

 

Wake me up, wake me up

To a day brand new

With dawn breaking on the hills

And grass all crowned with dew.

 

Make me stand

Ignite my heart

Let all my thoughts

Be You from the start.

 

Help me face

Just one more day

Give me strength

To enter the fray.

 

… wake me up.

5 thoughts on “Wake Up Call

      1. worldsbeforethedoor

        Yes they do….and also writing when you are influenced by Tolkien and the Bible take on a feel of poetry.

Leave a comment